College awards night celebrates success

Student of the Year receives award

Students, apprentices and employers attended a special awards ceremony at Chesterfield College where fourteen categories of awards were presented to recognise special achievements in learning over the last academic year.

Stuart Cutforth, Principal at Chesterfield College said: “These awards recognise and celebrate the impact learning can bring to individuals and to businesses. Congratulations to the winners and all those shortlisted for an award. The standard of entry was very high this year and it was difficult for the judges to make the final decision with such inspiring stories to choose from.”

Frank Smith OBE, Chair of Chesterfield College Corporation said: “It is wonderful to be able to recognise learners for their achievements at events like this. Exam results are a great measure of success but there are so many other ways to measure the impact of learning and education. The people here tonight deserve the recognition and I am proud to be a part of it. ”

Liz Barnes, Deputy Vice Chancellor from Sheffield Hallam University, expressed her passion for education and training during her speech at the event. She shared stories of her own career journey and how education has shaped her life and opened up different opportunities. She congratulated award winners as they collected their prizes and certificates.

Performing arts student Matthew Parker, was the winner of Student of the Year category after showing a huge commitment to developing his skills and those of others. He leaves the college this summer and will continue his studies in a highly sought after drama school in September.

The Apprentice of the Year was awarded to Tayub Khan who has shown a real commitment to learning and proven his ability to make a big impact at work where he has been instrumental in a project that has seen fantastic efficiency savings.

An award for investment in the workplace training was given to Rotherham company Owen Springs who have seen the positive impact of upskilling their workforce to drive their business forward through a period of change.

Other winners were:

Imogen Clark – Pre-16 Award

Gurdev Kaur – Commitment to Learning

Robert Watson – Adult Student of the Year

Cullum Detuners – Employer of the Year

Pamela Morehen – Inspiration Award

Jordan Garratt – Outstanding Achievement

Tom Anderson Higher – Education Award

Katie Widdowson – Award of Enterprise

Leah Whitfield – Improvement Award

Daniel Wade – Foundation Studies Student of the year

Derbyshire County Council – Apprentice Training Agency