Our Corporation help to make the key decisions which impact on the direction of the Chesterfield College Group. Here you will find the list of Corporation Board members as well as the latest minutes from meetings that discuss College functions.

Governors Handbook – currently being revised

The contents of this page are currently being updated, if you require any information in the meantime –
please contact the Clerk to the Corporation, Sandra Stewart by e-mail on or telephone 01246 500 508.

Should you need to contact our Corporation Chair, the contact details are below:

Keith Dennis, Chesterfield College Group Corporation Chair, Chesterfield College, Infirmary Road, Derbyshire, S41 7NG

Corporation and Committee Organisation Chart

Instrument and Articles of Government Update

Corporation meeting dates

Audit Committee Minutes

Corporation Minutes

FGP Minutes

Standards Minutes

KD Headshot

Keith Dennis

Chair of Corporation
Member of the Corporation Board since 2014

Keith Dennis was co-opted to the Governors Standards Committee in 2012 before becoming a Corporation Board member in 2014. He retired in 2010 following a career including secondary education, further education (including eight colleges and two principal roles), Her Majesty’s Inspectorate, the voluntary sector, management roles, consultancy and considerable governance experience. Prior to his election as Chair of Corporation, Keith has served as Vice Chair of Corporation, Chair of Standards Committee, and Link Governor for Teaching, Learning and Assessment (Classroom Based/HE/Quality Assurance and Workforce Development) and Strategic Direction.


JR Headshot 2Julie Richards

Principal and Chief Executive

Julie Richards was appointed Principal and CEO of the Chesterfield College Group in 2017. She joined the college as an Executive Director of Business Enterprise in 2009 before being promoted to Deputy Principal in 2011. Julie has a master’s degree in strategic leadership and has worked in Further Education for almost 30 years, spending the last 20 years in senior management roles.


Gill ThomasJill Thomas

Managing Director of Future Life Wealth Management

Member of the Corporation Board since 2017

Link Governor for Finance and Corporate Services

Jill Thomas is a member of the Finance and General Purpose Committee and managing director of Future Life Wealth Management. She has a huge amount of knowledge and experience in the world of finance. As a previous president of Sheffield Chamber of Commerce she has a keen interest in the local economy.


GL HeadshotGeoff Leyland

Retired Head Teacher

Member of the Standards Committee

Member of the Safeguarding Board

Member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee

Link Governor for Teaching, Learning and Assessment – Workbased

Link Governor for Safeguarding/Prevent Duty

Geoff Leyland is currently a primary school adviser supporting schools in Derbyshire. He has 38 years teaching experience including 18 years in Headship’s. Geoff has also worked in HE for three years in initial teacher training. He brings a wealth of experience to the corporation where he has served for 10 years. Geoff is the link adviser for work based placements and the designated governor for safeguarding. Geoff provides training throughout the local authority in governance with a particular interest in welcoming new governors to their roles and responsibilities.


DS HeadshotDominic Staniforth

Partner, BHP Solicitors

Member of the Audit Committee

Link Governor for Student Futures

Dominic Staniforth has been a partner at BHP Chartered Accountants for over 20 years. Throughout his career he has become an expert in audit, accountancy, advisory and outsourcing. Dominic has built up experience in a number of industry sectors including manufacturing, engineering, automotive and social enterprise in health care. Dominic is Chair of the Audit Committee and also holds various positions within the community.


BK HeadshotBeej Kaczmarcyk

Director at Learning Curve

Member of the Corporation since 2014

Link Governor for Employer and Stakeholder partnerships

Beej, a governor for four years, is well-known in the education sector and has an excellent reputation for his skills as a consultant and trainer, and as an expert in education policy, management, teaching and learning, funding and finance. He has held senior management roles in schools, FE colleges and in the private sector with Network Training, Tribal Education, Sector Training and Pearson Education. In 2015, he became a director of the Learning Curve Group to establish and grow their professional development and improvement services. He is also a director of e-Memoir, a web based CPD provider, and of The White Rose Schools of Beauty.


HB HeadshotHuw Bowen

Chief Executive Chesterfield Borough Council

Dr Huw Bowen is the Chief Executive of Chesterfield Borough Council, a role he has held for the past 10 years. Huw brings a wealth of public service experience to the Corporation both from the perspective of the council as an important local strategic partner for Chesterfield College, and through his extensive knowledge of sub-regional government structures such as local enterprise partnerships and combined authorities. His particular strengths are strategic planning, policy development, financial management, governance, standards and audit.


JC HeadshotJohn Croot

Chief Executive Officer Chesterfield FC Community Trust

Member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee

Link Governor for Equality and Diversity and Marketing

John joined the corporation in 2013 and is a member of the Finance & General Purposes and Remuneration committees. He has a wealth of experience in the football industry and has worked his way up to become the Chief Executive of Chesterfield Football Community Trust. During his career, John has successfully led, negotiated and delivered multi-million pound projects within football, and has also developed his family business to meet consumer needs.


GS HeadshotGunter Scheidt

Students’ Union Representative

Member of the Corporation Board since 2016

Gunter Scheidt joined the Corporation Board as Student Governor in September 2016 upon being appointed the Student Union President at Chesterfield College. As a student representative on the Board he is able to share the experiences and needs of students. This is an important part of ensuring that the college is governed with students at the core of decision making.


VACANCY - Staff Governor


Tony Cawthorne Corporation 1

Tony Cawthorne

Co-opted member of the Standards Committee sicne 2017

Tony Cawthorne is a plant quality manager at Bosch Thermotechnology. He started his career as an apprentice in the quality department at GKN Powder Metallurgy, from there he has progressed through different companies and industries whilst still remaining in the quality domain. During his current role at Bosch he mentors apprentices and provides a point of contact for them.

Martyn GlossopMartyn Glossop

Co-opted member of the Standards Committee since 2017

Martyn Glossop is a technical director at AECOM with 30 years’ experience in highway projects. He is experienced in quality assurance reviews, working with clients to set targets, monitor performance and drive continuous improvements. He works in collaboration with project partners to ensure that good working relationships are made and maintained to drive positive outcomes.


Sandra StewartSandra Stewart

Clerk to the Corporation

Joe Battye (photo to follow)

Joe Battye is currently Director of Economy and Regeneration with Derbyshire County Council and was a former Chair of Governors at a primary school in Barnsley. As a town planner/ urban designer by trade, Joe’s real passion is making sure everyone has the opportunity to succeed and believes that education, vocation and life skills are the key to success. Member of Corporation Board since 2017